Cal Poly students de-stress and re-energize after week of midterms

Alright, readers. It’s week 6. I think this is my least favorite week of the quarter. You’re more than halfway done, but still have SO MUCH to do before going home and eating too much peppermint bark, or whatever it is YOU do over winter break. The days are long, but the weeks are short. I’m sitting here thinking “good gracious, it’s only Tuesday?” but come Friday, I guarantee you, I’ll say something along the lines of “holy crap, it’s Friday.”

The hardest part of week 6 is that you’re often straddled with midterms. Whether this is your breather week or you stressful week, I’m here with de-stress expert Kalli Sandberg with some helpful tips on how to unwind.

Recreation, parks and tourism junior Kalli rewards herself after a long day with some frozen yogurt.

“First, my friends and I taste test at Bali’s and Yo Crea downtown,” she said. “Then we decide which one we’ll go to.”

I'm partial to Yogurt Creations, on Court Street. But Kalli likes to compare their flavors to Bali's before she makes her de-stress yogurt purchase.

Sandberg said she also loves driving through town, or out to the beach.

“We hop in the car, blast some music, and just let everything go,” she said. “A car, some music, and good friends. That’s all I need.”

My personal brand of de-stressing is baking. Or eating. Or both! Tonight, my roommates and I made these Kentucky butter cupcakes, and I thought they belonged in my de-stress post. It’s people like my lovely roomies that remind me why SLO is so happy.

They aren't much to look at, but these guys are delicious. Butter, sugar, vanilla extract...really all you need for some indulgent desserts.

Even dishes are cathartic on my most stressful days.

But in all seriousness, if I’m going anywhere in my stressed out mode, it’s more often than not Kreuzberg, CA. They call themselves a book bar and coffee lounge. I call it heaven. With couches considerably more comfortable than the one in my apartment and high-quality coffee and tons of delicious goodies to choose from, how could one NOT feel relaxed?

Hipster paradise

I guess you could call this place cluttered. Full of books and vintage furniture and board games and people talking and smiling. the walls are filled with photos of authors and letter pressed messages. Wait. That sounds like my dream house. You get the idea. I like it here. I think it captures SLO quite well. Just some happy folks coming together to drink coffee (we’re good at that here, our starbucks is one of the highest grossing in the nation), chat, read, and support local business.

Now that I’ve written this post, I’m in a K-berg state of mind, so if you’ll excuse me, I have some de-stressing to do.

Croftie out.

About hannahcat7

I'm overwhelmed by love, and I think everyone else should be, too.

Leave a Reply

